sabha: Suspension of MPs: Previous occasions when parliamentarians faced actions for “unruly” behaviour | India News

NEW DELHI: The winter session of Parliament has started on a stormy note with Rajya Sabha chairman M Venkaiah Naidu suspending 12 opposition MPs for their alleged disorderly conduct in the last session.
This is the largest number of members of parliament of Upper House being suspended in one go. The suspended MPs have announced to sit on a dharna outside Parliament from tomorrow to protest against the move.
The MPs have been suspended under Rule 256 of the rules of procedure followed by Rajya Sabha.
However, this is not the first time that Rule 256 has been invoked. There have been several occasions in the past when parliamentarians have been suspended from either Rajya Sabha or Lok Sabha over the past seven decades.
Here is a look at some of those instances when confrontation between the treasury and opposition benches led to suspension of MPs:
Farm Bills in Rajya Sabha last year: Eight MPs suspended
Many of the MPs who have been suspended now were also among those suspended last year. Rajya Sabha chairman M Venkaiah Naidu had taken action against eight MPs for their conduct during the passage of the farm bills, which have now been repealed. The suspended MPs included Rajiv Satav, Ripun Bora and Nazeer Hussain of the Congress, Derek O’Brien and Dola Sen of the TMC, KK Ragesh and Elamaram Kareem of the CPM and Aam Aadmi Party MP Sanjay Singh. Last year, minister of state for parliamentary affairs V Murleedharan had moved a motion to suspend these members for unruly behaviour.
Women’s reservation bill in Rajya Sabha:
The rule 256 was also invoked in 2010 when the women’s reservation bill was brought to the Rajya Sabha. Unruly scenes were witnessed and a copy of the bill was torn in the Upper House. Minister of state for parlianentary affairs Prithviraj Chavan had then moved the motion for suspension of some of the opposition MPs. These included members from parties like the Samajwadi Party (SP), Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD), Lok Janshakti Party (LJP) and Janata Dal (United). The motion was adopted by a voice vote.
25 opposition Lok Sabha members suspended in 2015:
In 2015, Lok Sabha Speaker had suspended 25 Congress members leading to a government-opposition confrontation. At that time, the Congress members were suspended for allegedly obstructing the House proceedings. Following the action, opposition parties decided to boycott the proceedings in solidarity with the suspended members. Congress chief Sonia Gandhi had termed it as a black day for democracy.
In Lok Sabha, members are suspended under rule 374.
63 MPs suspended from Lok Sabha:
Another major instance where a large number of MPs were suspended was in 1989. As many as 63 MPs were suspended for three days from the Lok Sabha.
Other instances:
According to available research, the first instance of suspension of MPs occurred in 1963.
In 1966, two MPs were removed from the Upper House and suspended for the rest of the day.
In April, 2012, eight members were suspended for four days from Lok Sabha.
In August, 2013, 12 members were suspended while in September 2014, nine members were suspended for five days.
Freedom fighter Raj Narain and former deputy speaker Godey Murahari are among prominent leaders who were suspended from Rajya Sabha.
Cases where members were expelled:
Not just suspension, there also have been instances where members have been expelled from Parliament. Over a dozen MPs have been expelled from the Parliament when the charges against them were very serious. However, these were not related to obstructing the functioning of the Houses but were mostly related to alleged irregularities.
What is Rule 256?
According to the rules of procedure followed by Rajya Sabha, the chairman, if he deems it necessary, names a member who disregards the authority of the chair or abuses the rules of the Council by persistently and willfully obstructing the business.
If a member is so named by the Chairman, he shall forthwith put the question on a motion being made, no amendment, adjournment or debate being allowed, that the member (naming him) be suspended from the service of the Council for a period not exceeding the remainder of the session.
However, the Council may, at any time, on a motion being made, resolve that such suspension be terminated.
A member suspended under this rule shall forthwith quit the precincts of the Council. In Lok Sabha, suspensions are carried under rule 374.

Source link


All Hindi News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *